Tongue

115 verses found

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible (mkjv)

(Gen 10:5) By these were the coasts of the nations divided in their lands, every one after his tongue, after their families, in their nations.

(Exo 4:10) And Moses said to Jehovah, O my Lord, I am not a man of words now, nor since You have spoken to Your servant, but I am slow of speech and of a slow tongue.

(Exo 11:7) But against any of the sons of Israel not even a dog shall move his tongue, against man or beast, so that you may know that Jehovah puts a difference between the Egyptians and Israel.

(Deu 28:49) Jehovah shall bring a nation against you from far, from the end of the earth, as the eagle flies; a nation whose tongue you shall not understand,

(Jos 10:21) And all the people returned in peace to the camp to Joshua at Makkedah. None moved his tongue against any of the sons of Israel.

(Jos 18:19) And the border passed along to the side of Beth-hoglah northward. And the boundary was at the north tongue of the Salt Sea, at the south end of Jordan. This was the south border.

(Jdg 7:5) And he brought down the people to the water. And Jehovah said to Gideon, Everyone who laps the water with his tongue, as a dog laps, you shall set him apart; also everyone who bows down upon his knees to drink.

(2Sa 23:2) The Spirit of Jehovah spoke by me, and His Word was in my tongue.

(Ezr 4:7) And in the days of Artaxerxes, Bishlam, Mithredath, Tabeel and the rest of their companions, wrote to Artaxerxes king of Persia. And the letter was written in the Syrian tongue, and interpreted in the Syrian tongue.

(Est 7:4) For we are sold, my people and I, to be destroyed, to be killed, and to perish. But if we had been sold for men-slaves and women-slaves, I would have held my tongue, although the enemy could not make up for the king’s damage.

(Job 5:21) You shall be hidden from the whip of the tongue; neither shall you be afraid of robbery when it comes.

(Job 6:30) Is there wrong in my tongue? Cannot my taste discern desirable things?

(Job 15:5) For your iniquity teaches your mouth, and you choose the tongue of the crafty.

(Job 20:12) Though wickedness is sweet in his mouth, though he hides it under his tongue;

(Job 20:16) He shall suck the poison of asps; the viper’s tongue shall slay him.

(Job 27:4) my lips shall not speak wickedness, nor my tongue utter deceit.

(Job 29:10) The noble’s voice was subdued, and their tongue clung to the roof of their mouth.

(Job 33:2) Behold, now I have opened my mouth, my tongue has spoken in my mouth,

(Job 41:1) Can you draw out the leviathan with a hook, or hold down his tongue with a cord?

(Psa 5:9) For there is no faithfulness in their mouth; their inward part is wickedness; their throat is an open grave; they flatter with their tongue.

(Psa 10:7) His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and fraud; under his tongue are mischief and vanity.

(Psa 12:3) Jehovah shall cut off all flattering lips, the tongue that speaks proud things,

(Psa 12:4) that has said, With our tongue we shall do much; our lips are our own; who is lord over us?

(Psa 15:3) he does not backbite with his tongue, nor does evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his neighbor;

(Psa 22:15) My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and My tongue clings to My jaws;

(Psa 34:13) Keep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking guile.

(Psa 35:28) And my tongue shall speak of Your righteousness, of Your praise all the day long.

(Psa 37:30) The mouth of the righteous speaks wisdom, and his tongue talks of judgment.

(Psa 39:1) To the Chief Musician, to Jeduthun. A Psalm of David. I said, I will take heed to my ways so that I do not sin with my tongue; I will keep my mouth with a bridle while the wicked are before me.

(Psa 39:3) My heart was hot within me; while I was musing, the fire burned; I spoke with my tongue:

(Psa 45:1) To the Chief Musician. Concerning the Lilies, for the sons of Korah, a contemplation; A Song of Loves. My heart is overflowing with a good matter; I speak of my works to the King; my tongue is the pen of a ready writer.

(Psa 50:19) You give your mouth to evil, and your tongue frames deceit.

(Psa 51:14) Deliver me from the guilt of shedding blood, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue shall sing aloud of Your righteousness.

(Psa 52:2) Your tongue devises evil, like a sharp razor, working deceitfully.

(Psa 52:4) You love all devouring words, O deceitful tongue.

(Psa 57:4) My soul is among lions; I lie among those on fire, the sons of men whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword.

(Psa 64:3) who sharpen their tongue like a sword, they tread their arrows, even a bitter word,

(Psa 64:8) So they shall be confounded; their tongue falls on themselves; everyone seeing them shall flee.

(Psa 66:17) I cried to Him with my mouth, and exaltations were under my tongue.

(Psa 68:23) so that your foot may be dipped in the blood of your enemies, and the tongue of your dogs in it.

(Psa 71:24) My tongue also shall muse on Your righteousness all the day long; for those who seek my evil have turned pale, they are brought to shame.

(Psa 73:9) They set their mouth against the heavens, and their tongue walks through the earth.

(Psa 109:2) for the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me; they spoke against me with a lying tongue.

(Psa 119:172) My tongue shall speak Your Word, for all Your Commandments are righteousness.

(Psa 120:2) Deliver my soul, O Jehovah, from lying lips, from a deceitful tongue.

(Psa 120:3) What shall be given to you? Or what shall be done to you, O false tongue?

(Psa 126:2) Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing; then they said among the nations, Jehovah has done great things with them.

(Psa 137:6) If I do not remember you, let my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth; if I do not prefer Jerusalem above my chief joy.

(Psa 139:4) For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Jehovah, You know it altogether.

(Pro 6:17) a proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,

(Pro 6:24) to keep you from the evil woman, from the flattery of the tongue of a strange woman.

(Pro 10:20) The tongue of the just is as choice silver; the heart of the wicked is worth little.

(Pro 10:31) The mouth of the just brings forth wisdom; but the perverse tongue shall be cut out.

(Pro 12:18) There are those who speak like the thrusts of a sword, but the tongue of the wise heals.

(Pro 12:19) The lips of truth shall be established forever, but only while I wink is a lying tongue.

(Pro 15:2) The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, but the mouth of fools pours out foolishness.

(Pro 15:4) A wholesome tongue is a tree of life, but crookedness in it is a break in the spirit.

(Pro 16:1) The ordering of the heart in man, and the answer of the tongue, is from Jehovah.

(Pro 17:4) A wicked doer gives heed to false lips; a liar gives ear to an evil tongue.

(Pro 17:20) He who has a perverse heart finds no good, and he who has a crooked tongue falls into mischief.

(Pro 18:21) Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it shall eat the fruit of it.

(Pro 21:6) The getting of treasures by a lying tongue is a vanity tossed to and fro by those who seek death.

(Pro 21:23) Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps his soul from troubles.

(Pro 25:15) In being slow to anger a ruler is won over, and a soft tongue breaks the bone.

(Pro 25:23) The north wind drives away rain; so does an angry face a backbiting tongue.

(Pro 26:28) A lying tongue hates those afflicted by it, and a flattering mouth works ruin.

(Pro 28:23) He who rebukes a man shall afterwards find more favor than he who flatters with the tongue.

(Pro 31:26) She opens her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.

(Son 4:11) Your lips, My spouse, drop like the honeycomb; honey and milk are under your tongue; and the smell of your garments is like the smell of Lebanon.

(Isa 3:8) For Jerusalem is ruined and Judah has fallen; because their tongue and their doings are against Jehovah, to provoke the eyes of His glory.

(Isa 11:15) And Jehovah shall utterly destroy the tongue of the Egyptian sea; and with His scorching wind He shall shake His hand over the River, and shall strike it into seven streams, and make one tread it with shoes.

(Isa 28:11) for with stammering lips and another tongue He will speak to this people.

(Isa 30:27) Behold, the name of Jehovah comes from far, burning with His anger, and uplifting of smoke; His lips are full of fury, and His tongue like a devouring fire.

(Isa 32:4) And the heart of the rash shall understand knowledge, and the tongue of those who stutter shall be ready to speak plainly.

(Isa 33:19) You shall not see a fierce people, a people of a deeper speech than you can understand; of a foreign tongue that no one understands.

(Isa 35:6) Then the lame shall leap like a deer, and the tongue of the dumb shall sing; for in the wilderness waters shall break out, and streams in the desert.

(Isa 41:17) The poor and needy seek water, and there is none; their tongue fails for thirst, I Jehovah will hear them, I the God of Israel will not leave them.

(Isa 45:23) I have sworn by Myself, the word has gone out of My mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, that to Me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.

(Isa 50:4) The Lord Jehovah has given Me the tongue of the learned, to know to help the weary with a word. He wakens morning by morning, He wakens the ear to hear as the learned.

(Isa 54:17) No weapon that is formed against you shall be blessed; and every tongue that shall rise against you in judgment, you shall condemn. This is the inheritance of the servants of Jehovah, and their righteousness is from Me, says Jehovah.

(Isa 57:4) Of whom are you making sport? Against whom do you make a wide mouth and draw out the tongue? Are you not children of transgression, a lying seed,

(Isa 59:3) For your hands are defiled with blood, and your fingers with iniquity; your lips have spoken lies, your tongue has muttered perverseness.

(Jer 9:5) And everyone will deceive his neighbor and will not speak the truth; they have taught their tongue to speak lies, and they weary themselves to commit iniquity.

(Jer 9:8) Their tongue is a slaughtering arrow; it speaks deceit; one speaks peaceably to his neighbor with his mouth, but in heart he lies in ambush.

(Jer 18:18) Then they said, Come and let us plot schemes against Jeremiah. For the Law shall not perish from the priest, nor wisdom from the wise, nor the Word from the prophet. Come and let us strike him with the tongue, and let us not pay attention to any of his words.

(Lam 4:4) The suckling’s tongue cleaves to his palate in thirst; the young children ask bread; there is no breaking to them.

(Eze 3:26) And I will make your tongue cling to the roof of your mouth, so that you shall be dumb and shall not be one who warns them. For they are a rebellious house.

(Eze 36:3) Therefore prophesy and say, So says the Lord Jehovah: Because of the wasting and crushing of you from all around, that you might be a possession to the rest of the nations, and you were lifted up on the tip of the tongue, and the talking of the people;

(Hos 7:16) They return, but not to the Most High. They are like a deceitful bow; their rulers shall fall by the sword from the rage of their tongue. This shall be their scorn in the land of Egypt.

(Mic 6:12) For its rich men are full of violence, and its people have spoken lies, and their tongue is deceitful in their mouth.

(Zep 3:13) The remnant of Israel shall not do iniquity nor speak lies, and a deceitful tongue shall not be found in their mouth; for they shall feed and lie down, and none shall make them afraid.

(Zec 14:12) And this shall be the plague with which Jehovah will strike all the peoples who have fought against Jerusalem. Their flesh shall rot while they stand on their feet, and their eyes shall rot in their sockets. And their tongue shall rot in their mouth.

(Mar 7:33) And He took him aside from the crowd and put His fingers into his ears. And He spat and touched his tongue.

(Mar 7:35) And instantly his ears were opened and the bond of his tongue was loosened, and he spoke plainly.

(Luk 1:64) And his mouth was opened immediately, and his tongue loosened. And he spoke and praised God.

(Luk 16:24) And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me and send Lazarus so that he may dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue, for I am tormented in this flame.

(Act 2:26) Therefore my heart rejoiced and my tongue was glad; and also My flesh shall rest in hope,

(Rom 14:11) For it is written, “As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to Me, and every tongue shall confess to God.”

(1Co 14:2) For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God. For no one hears, but in spirit he speaks mysteries.

(1Co 14:4) The one speaking in a tongue builds himself up, but he prophesying builds up a church.

(1Co 14:14) For if I pray in a tongue, my spirit prays, but my mind is unfruitful.

(1Co 14:19) yet in a church I desire to speak five words with my mind, so that I might also teach others, than ten thousand words in a tongue.

(1Co 14:26) Then how is it, brothers? When you come together, each one of you has a psalm, has a teaching, has a tongue, has a revelation, has an interpretation. Let all things be for building up.

(Php 2:11) and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

(Jas 1:26) If anyone thinks to be religious among you, yet does not bridle his tongue, but deceives his own heart, this one’s religion is vain.

(Jas 3:5) Even so the tongue is a little member and boasts great things. Behold how little a fire kindles how large a forest!

(Jas 3:6) And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. So the tongue is set among our members, spotting all the body and inflaming the course of nature, and being inflamed by hell.

(Jas 3:8) But no one can tame the tongue, it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

(1Pe 3:10) For he that wants to love life and to see good days, let him restrain his tongue from evil, and his lips from speaking guile.

(1Jn 3:18) My children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.

(Rev 5:9) And they sang a new song, saying, You are worthy to take the book and to open its seals, for You were slain and have redeemed us to God by Your blood out of every kindred and tongue and people and nation.

(Rev 9:11) And they had a king over them, the angel of the bottomless pit, whose name in the Hebrew tongue is Abaddon, but in Greek his name is Apollyon.

(Rev 13:7) And it was given to it to war with the saints and to overcome them. And authority was given to it over every tribe and tongue and nation.

(Rev 14:6) And I saw another angel flying in mid-heaven, having the everlasting gospel to preach to those dwelling on the earth, even to every nation and kindred and tongue and people,

(Rev 16:16) And he gathered them into a place called in the Hebrew tongue Armageddon.

